Day: February 19, 2014

Advertising Photography

Just completed my first client advertising image for Coca Cola. I went with an African theme choosing Table Mountain from Cape Town as my backdrop. Used some cans to create the shantytown and imagery you see in the collage.

I added the tires as a composite in Photoshop and then photographed and added the glass and can of coke. As you can see it needs some additional work with the glass masking, which I will cover in another post. How to remove background from glass. There are a number of different application that I use. I will be using OnOne Perfect Mask to do this edit.

W6A2_Ernstzen_D_FinalImage

 

I had a few lighting issues as well which can be sorted out using a dulling spray to remove some of the highlights and harsh hot spots you can get from photographing metal.

Let me know what you think and any suggestions and comments are always welcome.

New England snow day

We had another day of snow here in the New England area and getting out has been both a blessing, for all the great photographs that I was able to capture, but then also the never ending shoveling and path clearing that had to be kept up to prevent everything from turning to ice.

These photographs were HDR images that were captured in my backyard. The snow covered limbs on the trees created the perfect snow scene. I also  captured the sun hitting the tops of the trees creating a warm tree top scene. I will however have to watch my rule of thirds. The image with the shed in the foreground would be better if I did not have the pool in the foreground. A good wide angle lens would have been a better option here.

HDR

In the following image I took a photograph of the mailbox and then I used the Analog EFex Pro for some vintage image manipulation. Here I applied wet plate texture for a really great effect.

Analog EFex Pro

Analog EFex Pro

Finally, all these images were photographed handheld but I would recommend a tripod if you are going to be photographing HDR images. These would eliminate the blur created by some camera shake.

Have a great day until I see you back here again.